​​​Tue / Wed / Thu, Weekly, 9:00 am - 11:00 am    Pickle Ball
Join us at Trinity Lutheran Church on Stevens St in Rhinelander




Wed, March 18, 10:00 am

Difficulty 1

Book Club

Discuss anything we read by Jack London or watch the movie Call of the Wild.


Wed, June 24, 10:00 am

Difficulty 2

Paddle - Trout River

2-hour easy paddle on Trout River (a state natural area)


Past Events : 2019
2020 : Upcoming Events



Wed, Jan 16, 1:00 pm
Difficulty 1
Snowshoe or Hike - Newbold Recreation Trails 
North of Rhinelander on Ole Lake Road west off from Hwy 47. Trailhead parking is on the right. 

Wed, Jan 23, 11:00 am
Difficulty 1
Snowshoe Holiday Acres Resort 
1-mile on-site snowshoe hike with optional lunch to follow at the Resort. It should take no more than an hour through wooded level to moderate terrain. 

Wed, Feb 6, 11:00 am
Difficulty 1
Snowshoe or Hike - Heal Creek Trails
Trailhead at the Northwoods Golf Course Parking Lot. 1-2 hours.

Sat, Feb 16, 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Difficulty 1
Winter Fun
Play Ice Shuffle Board, Snowshoe on Squash Lake & enjoy the Bonfire. Join us for an afternoon of easy winter fun & snacks.

Sun, Feb 23, 10:00 am
Difficulty 2
Snowshoe or Hike - Giant Pine Trail
Enjoy seeing hundreds-of-year old pines south of Three Lakes. Lunch afterwards is optional.

Sat, Mar 2, 1:00 pm
Difficulty 2
Snowshoe - Almon Recreation Area
2.25 miles, approximately 2 hours. Hixon Lake Rd south of Rhinelander.

Sun, April 14, 6:30 pm
Speaker Event - A Bit of Scandinavia
See, by photo, bits of Copenhagen, Oslo, the fjords, Bergen and Stockholm.

Sat, April 27, 10:00 am
Difficulty 2
Paddle – 1st section of Bearskin Creek
Canoe the Bearskin Creek from Goodnow to Harshaw. 

​​​Wed, May 15, 5:00 pm
Difficulty 3
Paddle – Pelican River
Little George Creek Culvert on Hwy P about 7 miles east of Rhinelander. Some class 1 & 2 rapids.​

Wed, May 15, 9:00 am
Difficulty 2
Hike – Raven Nature Trail Hike 
Under 2 miles on a marked nature trail. We’ll look for wildflowers and birds and admire the large white pine. 


Wed, May 22, 9:30 am
Difficulty 2
Hike - Almon County Park
Hike the nature trail and check out the wildflowers as we hike.

​Sat, May 25, 10:00 am
Difficulty 2
Hike - Northwoods Trail Chapter Ice Age Trail Alliance
Spring Wildflower Hike 


Fri, June 14, 8:00 pm
Difficulty 1
Paddle - Moonlight on Langley Lake

Tue, June 25, 10:00 am
Difficulty 1
Paddle - Trout River
2-hour easy paddle on the Trout River, a state natural area.


July, Day TBD, Time TBD
Bike - 3 Eagle Bike Trail

17 or 13 miles round trip. 

Sat, July 13, 11:30 am
Difficulty 1
Paddle Katherine Lake
Paddle around Katherine Lake and view the shoreline donated to the Land Trust and the many islands & irregular shoreline & bays.
 


Sat, Aug 10, 11:00 am
Difficulty 2
Paddle Carrol Lake
​A 352 acre Northern Highland American Legion lake with picnic area next to an easy access boat launch.


Thurs, Sept 5, 12:00 noon
Difficulty 1
Bike - Bearskin State Trail
Meet at the trailhead on Cty. K and make it a picnic/lunch stop by S. Blue Lake then ride back to Cty. K.   Rain date of Fri. Sept. 6.  

Fri, Sept 13, 5:15 pm
Difficulty 2
Paddle - Pelican River with a Bonfire and Potluck
Easy float down the river. Potluck and fire begins 6:15 or so.


Sunday, September 22, 2019, 1:00 pm
Difficulty: 1
Hike - Fall Color Hike
Join the Northwoods Chapter of the Ice Age Trail Alliance for their Fall Color Hike in the beautiful rolling hardwoods in the Harrison Hills of Lincoln County.  Hike will be approximately 2 ½ to 3 miles in length. See printable calendar for details.

Sat, Oct 12
Difficulty 1
Hike - Timm's Hill
Explore and lunch at Timm's Hill, the highest point in Wisconsin.


Sat, Nov 2, 3:00 pm
Difficulty 1
Scavenger Hike and Potluck
Hike the various trails in the Perch/Washburn Lake area searching for surprises along the trail. Costumes increase the fun (but are optional). The Potluck in the heated Perch Lake Shelter starts about 6:00 pm. Great fun & fellowship!​​​


Sat, March 7, 6:00 pm

Snowshoe – Holmboe Forest State Natural Area
Join Northwoods Land Trust (NWLT) on Saturday, March 7 from 6:30-8 pm for a candlelight snowshoe at the Holmboe Conifer Forest State Natural Area in Rhinelander. Candlelight snowshoe outings are a great way to explore the night, plus we will have a nearly full moon to help guide us.


Mon, March 9, 5:30 pm
Difficulty 2/3
Snowshoe - Washburn Trails
Evening snowshoe followed by snacks and hot chocolate.



Past Events : 2020

Mon, Jan 20, 10:00 am
Difficulty 1
Book Club
Discussion of Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben.

Sat, Feb 1, Noon - 8:00 pm
Difficulty 2
Snowshoe Hike - Tara Lila
Tara Lila’s 9th Annual Snowshoe Celebration.
Candlelight Snowshoeing starts at dusk. TaraLila.org

Sat, Feb 1, 10:-- am - 1:00 pm
Difficulty 3
Snowshoe Hike
The Northwoods Chapter of the Ice Age Trail Alliance will host a guided snowshoe hike in the Underdown area of the Lincoln County Forest. goto tomahawk

Sat, Feb 8, 1:00 pm
Difficulty 2
Ski - Cassian
View new boardwalk over wetland.


Wed, Feb 19, 10:00 am
Difficulty 1
Book Club
Discussion of Canoeing with the Cree by Eric Severeid


Sat, Feb 22, 10:00 am
Snowshoe - Ice Age Trail Plover River Segment
Click here for their information 

Sat, Feb 22, 1:00 pm
Difficulty 2
Ski - McNaughton Lake Ski Trails
The trails follow old logging roads around three lakes and has few steep hills.

Sat, Feb 29, 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Difficulty 1
Outdoor Games
Play Ice Shuffle Board and Squash Lake Disk Golf.​